Pineapple & Vanilla Muffins

It’s that time of year again when people across the country roll up their sleeves, tie on their aprons, get their whisks at the ready and dig out their cake tins, which have been buried at the bottom of their kitchen drawers. The fifth series of The Great British Bake Off is back on our TV screens tomorrow evening. Love it or hate it, I can predict in the coming weeks the likes of Waitrose {other supermarkets are available} will report a soaring rise in sales of baking ingredients and equipment. Candy coloured Kitchen Aids and rolling pins will be flying off the shelves!

Baking has undoubtedly made a fashionable come back and that’s no bad thing. It’s encouraging people of all ages to get back into the kitchen and bake from scratch, whether its baking bread by hand or mastering the art of macaroons. I’ll confess I even found myself swept up in the hype of self raising flour and cake batter and applied to compete. Sadly I received a very polite generic email, thanking me for my entry submission and then never heard from the organisers ever again.

Despite falling at the first hurdle I’m not bitter. I’m very much looking forward to seeing who will be the star baker this year and who won’t make the cut due to one too many soggy bottoms. In anticipation I’ve conjured up another fruity treat, in keeping with my summer baking trend. Ready, steady, bake….!

Pineapple & Vanilla Muffins (makes six)

The Ingredients…

135g. of plain flour

2 tsp. of baking powder

1 medium sized egg

150g. of fresh pineapple chopped into small chunks

The seed of one vanilla pod

80g. of caster sugar

100ml. of full fat coconut milk

The Baking Bit…

1. Preheat the oven to 180c. Prepare a muffin tin holder with 6 greased muffin cases or as I do use silicon cases which don’t need greased.

2. Sift the flour into a mixing bowl, add in the baking powder, then the sugar and stir all the dry ingredients together.

3. Next add in the vanilla seed and mix the egg into the dry ingredients.

4. Pour in the coconut milk and fold everything together using a wooden soon. Finally fold in the pineapple chunks.

5. Evenly distribute the mixture into each of the six cases, filling them right to the top. Place in the oven and bake for 35 minutes.

 

2 thoughts on “Pineapple & Vanilla Muffins

  1. Joanna says:

    Hello!

    My name is Joanna and I have read your blog and I really liked your recipes! I work for a website called myTaste.com and I would love for you to join us!

    http://www.mytaste.com is a search engine that collects food blogs. We already have over 4000 blogs and if you join us you will take benefit from the traffic that we are sending to your blog.

    Add our widget and hopefully with your recipes your blog will be on the top of the food blogs list!
    If you have any questions please don’t hesitate to contact me at info@mytaste.com

    To join myTaste, just go to http://www.mytaste.com/add-your-food-blog

    Best regards, Joanna
    mytaste.com

Leave a Reply

