Fruity Tea Loaf

Admittedly with the weather being far too warm to be in the kitchen recently, baking has taken a back seat over the last couple of weeks. However this is no excuse as I’m meant to be in training. No, I’m not preparing for a 10k. I’m also not planning to cycle the length and breadth of the country. Neither am I planning to trek to the top of Kilimanjaro any time soon.

Instead on Wednesday I will be taking on the fiercely competitive rural housewives and WRI of Wigtownshire as I compete at my parents local agricultural show. Having failed to pick up a single red rosette last year, I’m determined to give as good as I get this time round. Although neither Mary Berry or Paul Hollywood are on the judging panel, it’s going to be tough!

So with my apron on, my wooden spoon at the ready I’ve been whisking up some traditional favourites with a modern twist. Without giving away too many of my secrets, today I’ll share with you my take on the traditional fruit loaf.

IMG_20130728_175923

IMG_20130728_175859

Fruity Tea Loaf

The Ingredients…

1. 300g of self raising flour

2. 150g of Xylitol (or caster sugar will suffice)

3. 250g of dried dates, cranberries & sultanas soaked in a mug of cranberry and raspberry tea for two hours

4. 3 eggs

5. 2 tsp. of cinnamon

6. 125ml of semi skimmed milk. Add a little more if required.

The Baking Bit…

1. Prepare your dried fruit by soaking your mixture in the fruit tea for a couple of hours and then drain the excess tea.

2. Pre heat the oven to 180C.

3. Sift the flour into a glass bowl and mix in the Xylitol.

4. Then add in the cinnamon, followed by three eggs and the milk and mix all the ingredients together until you have a lovely smooth mixture.

5. Lastly add in your soaked dried fruit and pour into a loaf tin. Bake for 60 minutes and leave to cool before slicing. Enjoy with a compulsory cup of tea!

One thought on “Fruity Tea Loaf

Leave a Reply

